Day 12 of 12
  • WEATHER: Sunny
    WIND: None
  • SCHEDULE: Mick Fanning Wins!
    UPDATED: 1.47am, 27th August , 2012 (Tahiti time)

Beautiful mountain view from the end of the road. © ASP/ Kirstin

Final Lay Day Called, Event Will Recommence Tomorrow in Building Surf

26 August 2012 Posted in Press Releases

The Billabong Pro Tahiti has called its eighth and final lay day this morning and will recommence competition tomorrow.

Event No. 5 of 10 on the 2012 ASP World Championship Tour, the Billabong Pro Tahiti completed the opening two rounds of competition in the opening two days of the waiting period and will complete the remainder of the event in the final two days of the competitive window.

“As expected, the swell has yet to fill in this morning and we’ve called competition off for the day,” Rich Porta, ASP International Head Judge, said. “We anticipate a modest swell to fill in the afternoon and build throughout the night and into tomorrow while a stronger secondary swell begins hitting tomorrow afternoon and sets up a good finish

Surfline, official forecasters for the Billabong Pro Tahiti, are calling for minor swell mix to continue today with a modest pick up of mixed southerly swell tomorrow. A medium size SW ground swell will move for the end of the waiting period, strongest on Sunday, with an even larger south swell now looking likely for Monday. Trades will increase on Thursday and are strong Friday through Monday.

When competition resumes, up first will be two-time ASP World Champion and current ASP WCT No. 1 Mick Fanning (AUS), 31, up against Fredrick Patacchia (HAW), 30, in the opening heat of Round 3.

Check the Highlights from the Billabong Pro Tahiti here


Heat 1: Mick Fanning (AUS) vs. Fredrick Patacchia (HAW)
Heat 2: Julian Wilson (AUS) vs. Adrian Buchan (AUS)
Heat 3: Taj Burrow (AUS) vs. Kai Ottonn (AUS)
Heat 4: Owen Wright (AUS) vs. Miguel Pupo (BRA)
Heat 5: C.J. Hobgood (USA) vs. Michel Bourez (PYF)
Heat 6: Kelly Slater (USA) vs. Ricardo dos Santos (BRA)
Heat 7: Joel Parkinson (AUS) vs. Taylor Knox (USA)
Heat 8: Jeremy Flores (FRA) vs. Heitor Alves (BRA)
Heat 9: Josh Kerr (AUS) vs. Damien Hobgood (USA)
Heat 10: John John Florence (HAW) vs. Brett Simpson (USA)
Heat 11: Gabriel Medina (BRA) vs. Alejo Muniz (BRA)
Heat 12: Adriano de Souza (BRA) vs. Kieren Perrow (AUS)